Spain, Ireland, Malta, Slovenia Take Steps Toward Recognizing Palestine

Brussels, March 22 (QNA) – Spanish Prime Minister, Pedro Sanchez, said Friday that Spain agreed with Ireland, Malta, and Slovenia to take the initial steps towards recognizing the State of Palestine.

In remarks to journalists, Sanchez stated that the agreement was reached with the leaders of the three countries during a meeting on Friday morning on the sidelines of the European Council summit in Brussels.

The Spanish Prime Minister expects his country to recognize the State of Palestine during the current four-year legislative session, which began in 2023.

“We are agreed that the only way to achieve lasting peace and stability in the region is through implementation of a two-state solution, with Israeli and Palestinian States living side-by-side, in peace and security,” a joint statement said after the meeting.

Arab countries and the European Union agreed during a meeting in Spain last November that the two-state solution is the only solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Since 1988, 139 out of 193 UN member states have recognized the State of Palestine. (QNA)